History of superannuation for Government employees

A history of the GSF can be found in Neill Atkinson’s book: Rewarding Service – a History of the Government Superannuation Fund (University of Otago Press) 2002.


1 December 1899: The Police Provident Fund (PPF) was established.

1 January 1903: The Government Railways Superannuation Fund (GRSF) established.

1 January 1906: The Teachers Superannuation Fund (TSF) established.

1 January 1908: The Public Service Superannuation Fund (PSSF) established.

April 1910: The PPF was absorbed into PSSF.

1911: The National Provident Fund (NPF) established.

1914: The NPF became the main scheme for local government employees.

1920: The Government Superannuation Association (GSA) and the Railway Superannuitants’ Association (RSA) founded in response to rampant post-war inflation.

1 April 1948: The three funds (GRSF, TSF and PSSF) combined as the Government Superannuation Fund (GSF).

1963: Compulsory membership of the GSF for all government employees introduced. This was strong opposed by the Railway Association.

1969: Annual cost of living adjustments (CoLA) of 60% were achieved, increasing to 100% over 40 contributory years, with 1% added to the contribution rate.

1985: The new GSF scheme introduced with the CoLA increased to 100%, the annuity reduced to compensate, and the contribution rate raised to 6.5%.

April 1991: NPF closed to new members.

July 1992: GSF closed to new members.

Go to annuity schemes for an outline of these schemes.

Go to annuity schemes features for the main features of the GSF and NPF schemes.


website development by intelliServe